Anglican Church of the Americas

Charismatic Glossary Terms


The spiritual gifts (Greek “charismata”) are gifts that the Holy Spirit gives believers in Christ for various purposes, mainly to edify the Body of Christ. We have the following categories.

I. THE MANIFESTATION GIFTS: I Corinthians 12:1-12

There are nine of these gifts of the Holy Spirit which are categorized into three groups of three.

  1. The Gifts of Revelation

Discerning of Spirits. The supernatural ability given to a person by the manifestation of the Holy Spirit to discern the presence and nature/identity of angelic, human, demonic, or divine spirits.

The Word of Knowledge. A revelation that God gives to a person by the manifestation of the Holy Spirit that concerns something in the past or the present in relation to the will and plan of God.

The Word of Wisdom. A revelation that God gives to a person by the manifestation of the Holy Spirit that gives insight into the will of God for one’s future vocation or ministry. It is also a revelation of a concrete resolution or solution to a problem that is confronting an individual or group.

  1. The Gifts of Power

Miracles. The supernatural ability to manifest miracles by the power of the Holy Spirit and for the glory of Christ.

Faith. The supernatural manifestation of faith to believe in Jesus Christ for a particular miracle. This usually works in conjunction with miracles.

Healings. The supernatural manifestation of the power of the Holy Spirit to enable one to believe in Christ for his/her emotional, mental, physical, or spiritual healing.

  1. The Gifts of Utterance

The Word of Prophecy. A prophetic revelation that God gives to a person by the manifestation of the Holy Spirit for exhortation, edification, and comfort.

Tongues. The manifestation of a message in an unintelligible language of the Spirit, usually given during praise and worship in a worship service or small prayer group, that cannot be understood by those present.

Interpretation of tongues. The supernatural ability to interpret a message given in tongues during a worship service. This can include a word of prophecy, encouragement, warning, blessing, or even divine rebuke.

II. THE MINISTRY GIFTS: Ephesians 4:11

There are five ministry gifts:

Apostles. Ordained ministers who are in the government or top leadership in the Body of Christ. The office was transferred to the Bishops and Archbishops in the Church upon the death of the last apostle (John) around A.D. 100.

Prophets. Ministers who are able to receive and speak forth divine prophetic revelation to persons, churches, or even nations. For fully mature prophets, this includes futuristic prophetic words.

Evangelists. Ministers who are itinerant preachers of the Good News of Jesus Christ whose main calling is to convert the unsaved to Christ.

Pastors. Ministers who are called to serve local congregations and preach the Word, administer the sacraments, and generally lead the congregation in their spiritual growth in Christ.

Teachers. Ministers whose primary calling is to teach the Bible so that believers can grow and mature in their faith in Christ.

III. THE MOTIVATIONAL GIFTS: Romans 12 & I Cor. 12:28

There are spiritual gifts that God gives to the believer which are a permanent part of one’s daily life in Christ and spirituality. They are called motivational gifts because they are the primary motivation in the life of the Christian to minister and witness to Christ.

The motivational gifts are:

         Exhortation (Encouragement)
         Showing Mercy (Compassion)
         Celibacy (I Cor. 7:7)
         Administration (I Cor. 12:28)
         Helps (I Cor. 12:28)


Roman Catholics, Orthodox, Anglicans, and Lutherans believe in the gifts of the Holy Spirit that God gives the believer, normally at his/her Confirmation, which help to sanctify the believer. By sanctification is meant the ability to live a holy life dedicated to God on a daily basis which glorifies Christ.

Aquinas says that four of these gifts (wisdom, understanding, knowledge, and counsel) direct the intellect, while the other three gifts (fortitude, reverence, and fear of the Lord or wonder and awe) direct the will toward God.


Fear of the Lord (also called “wonder” or “awe”)















© 2010-2014 Anglican Church of the Americas • 200 West 3rd. Street • Luverne, AL 36049 • 334.335.2991 • 334.335.2660 (fax)